Home > Uncategorized > QNAP it is

QNAP it is


Just purchased a QNAP TS-419P+. After the news that was posted about WHS 2011 on poor documentation and server backups not working I finally pulled the plug. The unit should arrive sometime next week.

I looked at ReadyNas(horrible GUI) and Synology(bleh) and found this was the best bang for the buck. I am so exited not to deal with any more WHS backup database corruption, or stuttering of playback while the DE goes. This thing even streams every digital format known to man to my XBOX 360, something WHS couldn’t do.

P80 is now officially no longer developed for WHS. Perhaps I can develop P80 for QNAP as they use plugins as well. Who knows…I feel much better knowing I can put this Microsoft WHS BS out of my life.

  1. Marko
    April 28, 2011 at 4:47 am

    Please consider making P80 open-source, so someone can continue developing the excellent WHS v1 add-in.

  2. Anon
    April 30, 2013 at 5:48 am

    Yes there was an issue with DE in WHS V1 with video stuttering this could of been resolved easily with a few adjustments, even though its now old. WHS 2011 server backups needs a little fine tune which is no major issue really. WHS 2011 for media streaming, install PLEX, Serviio or Tversity on top of it using Remote Desktop Connection, and works very well.
    A NAS box in my experience comes nowhere near the capabilities that WHS 2011 can do, plus the expandabilty it has thanks to it being built on Win Server 2008 R2.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment